Are Blue Switches good for gaming?

Hey everyone,

I’m relatively new to gaming keyboards, and I’ve come across the term “blue switches.” I’m not sure if they are suitable for gaming or not. Could you please share your insights and experiences with blue switches for gaming? I’d like to know if they provide a good gaming experience or if there are better alternatives.

Your advice and recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

4 Likes

Hi @maxrodriguezart88

Blue switches are a popular choice for mechanical gaming keyboards, but whether they are “good” depends on your preferences and gaming style.

Blue switches are known for their tactile feedback and audible click sound, which some gamers find satisfying. They have an actuation force of around 50-60g, so you’ll feel slightly resistant when pressing a key, making it less likely for accidental key presses.

Pros of Blue Switches for Gaming:

Tactile Feedback: The tactile bump in blue switches lets you know when a key press registers, which can be beneficial for precise key presses in games.
Click Sound: The audible click can be a satisfying confirmation of key presses, but it might be distracting to others if you’re in a shared space.
Typing Comfort: Blue switches are also excellent for typing tasks due to the tactile and audible feedback.

Cons of Blue Switches for Gaming:

Loud Noise: The click sound can be bothersome in quiet environments or for others sharing the space.
Not Suitable for Rapid Double-Tapping: The click mechanism can make double-tapping (e.g., in FPS games) slightly slower than linear switches.
Personal Preference: The suitability of blue switches for gaming ultimately depends on your preference. Some gamers prefer linear switches (e.g., red or black) for smooth, uninterrupted keypresses.