Need help with QuickBooks - How to edit a memorised transaction?

Hello everyone,

I’m fairly new to personal finance and QuickBooks and could use some guidance. I recently memorised a transaction in QuickBooks, but now I need to change it. Can someone please walk me through the steps to edit a memorized transaction in QuickBooks? Any advice, tips, or step-by-step instructions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help!

3 Likes

Hi @leilalwriter

I’d be happy to respond to your query.

Response:

To edit a memorised transaction in QuickBooks, follow these steps:

1. Open QuickBooks: Launch QuickBooks and ensure you’re logged in to the correct company file.
  2. Access the Memorised Transaction List: Go to the “Lists” menu and select “Memorised Transaction List.”
  3. Select the Transaction: From the Memorised Transaction List, find the transaction you want to edit, select it, and then click “Edit.”
  4. Make Your Edits: Now, you can make the necessary changes to the transaction. You can modify details such as the date, amount, accounts, and other relevant information.
  5. Save Your Changes: After making the required edits, click “Save” to save the updated memorised transaction.
  6. Update the Transaction: QuickBooks will ask if you want to update the transaction. Click “Yes” to confirm the changes, and your memorised transaction will now reflect the updates.

It’s important to note that when you edit a memorised transaction, QuickBooks will also ask if you want to update the transaction in your list. Confirming this will keep your memorised transaction updated with your changes.

Following these steps, you can easily edit memorised transactions in QuickBooks for better personal finance management. If you have any more questions or need further assistance, feel free to ask!

3 Likes